Success! Dish washing detergent!

As it has previously been documented, I make my own laundry detergent. I don’t use it all the time – in fact I’m out right now and need to make some more – but I love it. It cleans great. Is fun to make, oddly enough. And is super cheap. As a note, I only buy the real stuff when I have a killer coupon.

Around the same time I started making laundry soap I also tried to make my own Cascade. I failed miserably. It didn’t clean all of my dishes and it left a weird film on them.
I recently did some research about that and discovered that adding salt to the main recipe helps. Odd, I know….but I tried it – and it WORKED!
Dishing washing detergent

1 cup borax (NOT boric acid, they are completely different)
1 cup baking soda
1/4 cup table salt (the cheap stuff, nothing fancy)

Mix it all in a container with a lid. I use 2 tablespoons, which doesn’t quite fill up the closed container….and then I add just a little bit to the open cup.
I guess I should say that I do rinse my dishes off before putting them in the dishwasher. I don’t know how well this would clean off stuck on foods.
If you try this yourself, let me know how it works for you.
One thought on “Success! Dish washing detergent!

Leave a Reply

