Chicken Pot Pie Without Peas {Recipe}

I have a special spiral bound recipe book that I was given as a wedding present almost 14 years ago.  It was blank when I received it and I only write down recipes worth writing down in it (i.e. favorites and/or family recipes).  Some of the recipes in this book are Brad’s moms Harvey Wallbanger cake, Leslee’s Cranberry Relish, Tee’s corn pudding (not a family recipe just out of a Southern Living Cookbook), my mom’s gingersnap cookies, Brad’s mom’s dump cake, Jeanine’s vegetable casserole, etc.

And Chicken Pot Pie.  I should mention that it does NOT have peas in it.  Brad won’t eat them.  David probably won’t either.  So I leave them out.

Unfortunately, I didn’t write down who or where I got the recipe from.  I spent about 5 minutes on the internet tonight trying to find this exact recipe and I can’t locate it.  So….if you are the author of this recipe (like you’d be reading my blog anyhow), then please forgive me and let me know it’s yours so I can give you proper credit.

This is worth making.  And eating.  So get a pen and write this down.  Or print it out.  Whatever you wish.

Chicken Pot Pie {out of Bethany’s Spiral Recipe Book} Without Peas (how’s that for the name)?

2 chicken breasts (boiled and chopped up)
1 can corn, drained
1 can green beans, drained
3 potatoes, peeled and chopped
1 cup carrots, peeled and chopped/sliced
1/2 stick butter
1 can chicken broth
1 pint milk (whole milk is probably best, but I use 1%), plus 1/4 cup more
1 tbs dried parsley
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1 tsp Cajun seasoning
Pillsbury Crust (found in the refrigerated section

Add the potatoes and carrots together in a pot of water.  Boil for 8 minutes.  Drain.  Mix together with the corn, green beans and chicken.  In a pan, melt the butter and add the flour.  Cook (while stirring constantly) for 2 minutes.  Then slowly add the can of chicken broth and the milk.  Cook for 7 minutes or until slightly thicker.  Add seasoning and mix well.  Pour the cream mixture over the veggie/chicken mixture and mix together.

I think this recipe originally was made to fit a 9×13 pan, but I like to use a pie plate, because it’s chicken pot pie….why would you use a 9×13 pan???  You can divide this in half for two pie plates or put it all in one large pie plate.  If you use two pie plates they aren’t super full, but I like them like this.  Spray whatever you use with Pam and spread the veggie/chicken mixture in the pan.  Cover the mixture with a crust and pinch the edges.  Cut a few slits in the top for steam to escape.  You can always use a bottom crust and a top crust, but since I made two pies with this I use the second crust in the package to top the second pie.

Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes or until the crust has begun to brown and the veggie/chicken mixture is bubbly.   Your 7 year old son may even love it, like mine did.  That makes a mama happy when he enjoys something that I make without having to bribe him to eat it.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

