Chemo Care Package

A dear friend of mine was recently diagnosed with colon cancer.  I knew I wanted to put together something for her before she started chemo…so I reached out to a small group of friends to ask if they’d like to join in the effort.  They did!  We ended up delivering a huge basket of things to her last night in preparation for her first chemo treatment this morning.  Some items were boring and practical/necessary and a lot of items were “just because”.

We did some Pinterest research to see what some good ideas were to include in the basket.  So that was our starting point….and we just ran with it.  We ended up with this….a big box full of stuff:

photo1
I also included this list below – which outlines a few of the items and the reason they were included.  I ran out of room, so didn’t include everything.

Chemo Care Package

Here is the Microsoft Word version if you’d like to download it and edit it for your own Care Package:  Chemo Care Package

I did not get any pictures of what was inside…but I’ve outlined each item below:

  1. Fluffy blanket
  2. Fluffy socks
  3. Heating Pad
  4. Scarf (all to keep warm during/after her chemo treatments)
  5. Bottles of water (to stay hydrated)
  6. iTunes Gift Card
  7. A couple good books
  8. Chapstick (to keep her list from drying out, which is a side effect of chemo)
  9. Sudoku Puzzle Book
  10. Trashy Magazines
  11. Hard Candy (to help keep her mouth moist and to help with mouth sores)
  12. Bath Stuff
  13. Kleenex
  14. Cocoa Butter Lotion (this is great for dry skin, a side effect of chemo)
  15. A cute t-shirt
  16. Framed encouraging print
  17. Cottonelle Wipes (a side effect of chemo is diarrhea)
  18. Germ-X (to keep the germs away)
  19. Keychain, cross earrings, and other trinkets
  20. Love Notes (a note written by each friend who contributed)
  21. Snickers (her favorite candy

We hope that we were able to put a smile on our friend’s face before she faces the hardest battle of her life.  I think we succeeded.  🙂

12 thoughts on “Chemo Care Package

  1. WOW! What a wonderful care package! The most important item was the last one…love. How lucky your friend is to receive such a caring and thoughtful box of love!

  2. That is so sweet of you and your friends! I’m sure this package eased some of her worries. I’m trying to put together a care package for a friend’s mom. I think I’ll steal a few of your ideas! Thank you so much for sharing.

    Tanuja

    • Thank you for your sweet words. Good luck puting your own together. I’d love to see it if you also have a blog to share it on.

  3. When I had my first mastectomy all the lymph nodes were removed from my left armpit. I received a wonderful gift bag from the hospital volunteers but the item which I appreciated most was a sponge which I could put under my armpit. This was soft and took the pressure off and I felt so more comfortable. That was in 2002 and after another mastectomy a few years later I’m still alive and kicking in 2017 but I have never forgotten that wonderful gift at a very dark time in my life!

  4. And, what a wonderful idea this could be for most any shut-in to let them know they are loved, prayed for and remembered.

Leave a comment